First 5k

I signed up for a nine week training program to get prepared to run my first 5k in July the Independence Day 5k. The program is with the Genesis 5k Training Program (wvruncoach.com). The coach is Matt Young.  We start on May 5th with group training. I have wanted to do his program for some time and for one reason or another haven’t i been able to do it; but this time I have paid the fee so I’m in! It will be good to have other people to run and train with to keep me motivated and accountable to stay on track. I have been doing the couch to 5k app on my phone in recent weeks but this program will definitely take it up a notch. I’ve watched Matt’s videos on YouTube of previous training groups, all ages, sizes and they all seem to be so excited once they cross the finish line..and Matt cheering them on the whole way. That’s my goal to cross that finish line. I would also like to see some of the women that I work with in early recovery join me in this journey so they can see the benefits of fitness on their health, recovery and overall self-esteem. Fingers crossed that at least one of them will get with the program…updates to come…

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

