One small step for me…one stride toward race day….

Today was the first day of the Genesis 5k training program! There was a big crowd of all types of people, male, female, beginners, alumni, those in shape and out of shape. But the one thing all had in common was everyone was excited to be there; and some were actually nervous it’s quite an endeavor that we are about to take on but the coach Matt Young was encouraging and thrilled to see everyone there.

The group gathering at check in getting ready to start.
The group gathering at check in getting ready to start day one of the program.
Matt telling the us what to expect and giving some running tips. He hopes we all cross the finish line July 3rd.
Matt telling the us what to expect and giving some running tips. He hopes we all cross the finish line July 3rd.

I have to admit I didn’t know what to expect. I’m doing this solo I couldn’t find a friend who was available to do this with me. But I quickly met two ladies there one who had completed the program previously and the other this was her first time as well. We exchanged numbers so to hold each other accountable during the off days when we are to train on our own. The down side is I wasn’t able to get any of the ladies at the sober house that I work with to participate. They were not interested 😦 I’m really sad about this but we have to expect this sometime with people in early recovery.

So we begin week one with a 5 minute walk warm up and then we do 60 seconds of running followed by 90 seconds of walking and we do this for 8 rounds. We are to do this two more days this week on our own.  That’s week one.  I had already started the couch to 5k app on my phone and gotten to week three so I may just keep that up on my days I train on my own. So we are now officially headed to July 3rd race day. I’m pumped and ready..and have my eyes on the finish line.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

