First solo run

Today I did my first solo run since the group practice on Tuesday. Sara and Kristen from the group text me this morning and they have completed their first one as well. It’s cool to have the check ins with people from the group, the encouragement and motivation is helpful. We also received our midweek message from Matt our coach today too, with nutrition tips and how to take care of sore calves and shins.

Here's a screen shot from the Map My Run App..I'm a little slow but hey it's my second day and I'm keeping my expectations in check!
Here’s a screen shot from the Map My Run App..I’m a little slow but hey it’s my second day and I’m keeping my expectations in check!

First observation running outside is much different from running on a treadmill! So I will be outside as much as possible to have a better feel for what it will be like on race day. I waited until the evening to run it was a nice 90 degree day today…Whew! Too hot to run earlier today; besides I had some errands to run anyway. As i said in a previous blog, I couldn’t find anyone to do this with me, so I hadn’t told anyone that I had actually signed up and started. But I decided to go ahead and tell some of my friends what I was doing and they are all pretty excited and cheering me on. I think if I hadn’t it would have been too easy to not finish and no one would be the wiser because no one would have known. So now there are people who can hold me accountable with the question “how’s the running going?” and I will have to answer, and I don’t lie well. And it would be so easy to stay on the couch, I mean who doesn’t love a USA Law and Order SVU Marathon? Of course it would be great if my friends were actually doing this with me…but C’est la vie.  Tomorrow my second solo run…or maybe Sunday 🙂

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

