Expectations and goals…

We received our week 2 email from our coach this morning from Matt and in it he asked what our goal was for this training session and for the event; both good questions. My goal for the session is to do better than the previous one and learn what I can; and my goal for the event is to finish the race and cross the finish line; I would like to think I’m not concerned about my time 😉  As I was doing my morning run today I was thinking about the expectations I had for myself. I have a tendency to have high expectations, sometimes too high, I identify as a “recovering perfectionist”. I know it’s only the end of week one of training and there’s a part of me that wants to be further along than I am. I talk about expectations all the time with my clients, rushing the process of getting sober and working the Steps faster than they need to which sets them up for relapse….with that said…my pace is just as it should be 60 seconds running and 90 seconds walking and next week we go to 90 seconds of running. I’m where I am supposed to be right now; following the coaches instructions. Running tall, steady pace…

I was listening to a local radio station just before the Boston Marathon, and they were interviewing someone from our area who was going to the race. The DJ’s mentioned 5k’s and this person arrogantly said he hated 5k’s. I remembered thinking…dude you just didn’t jump off the couch and start running 26 miles! Everyone has their first day, first run, and first race. I get so annoyed when people forget what it took for them to get where they are in their present.  So keeping that in mind…I will keep my expectations of myself in check.

As I mentioned in previous posts I’ve told several of my friends what I’m doing, one in particular is a runner herself and has been trying to get me into this sport for some time. She thinks it awesome that I’ve gotten involved in this program. I told her I think running is also helping me to put some things behind me as well…A Forrest Gump Moment..if you will. This last year has been somewhat difficult and exercise is a great way to process all that stuff and burn that energy with the goal of the finish line in always in mind. On to week two.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

