Week Two..A little rough

It’s only week two of our Genesis nine week training and I’ve been hit with stumble. I woke up Monday with a sore throat so I try some home remedies and go to work. Of course it’s allergy season but I make my declaration “I don’t have allergies!” which is true for the most part. I am however, allergic to grass; which at last weeks training session I stood on, sat on and ran on. So needless to say I was an itchy mess. But as Monday went on and Tuesday came I wasn’t feeling any better, runny nose and eyes, and sneezing like there was no tomorrow; I didn’t have my normal either strength that’s why I didn’t think this was allergies. But Tuesday came and it was the second week for our group training session and I really didn’t have it in me to go but I knew it would not be a good idea to miss this early in the training. I WAS GOING. So I went and when I arrived Matt, our coach, said “you don’t look like you feel very well.” And I said I don’t but I’m here..and he told me to do what I could. And that’s what I did. I was like Granny Clampet from the Beverly Hillbillies out there going around the park. I was slow! It was the week we started the 90 second run and when you’re not feeling your best 90 seconds seems like 90 minutes. I think there were people who could walk faster than I was running. I was telling a friend about it later and she told me “you may have been slow but you lapped the person on the couch”. And she was right at least I was out there. She has been running for a few years now and also said someone thought they were motivating her that night with cat calls and other ridiculous things, some people can be such morons. Anyway, I completed the nights training, not my best night but I got through it, came home showered, sent a text to some friends and went to bed. Which is why I’m just now doing this blog. The next day I was really sick, I went to work and could only do half the day; cancelled the rest of my clients, came home and crashed. It had finally caught up with me. I’m still a little down but better than yesterday; and I still have my two solo practice runs to do this week.

I’m glad I went to the training session and didn’t give myself the excuse not to go it would have been easy to not go.  Same thing I try to relay to my clients all the time; all the reasons they will find to not go to meetings or to therapy etc. So we have to decide how bad we want it and just do it.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

