Half-way mark–Week 4

We are at week four of the Genesis 5k 9 week training program (http://www.wvruncoach.com/genesis-info/) and we are half way through. It was an 88 degree day, the sun was bright, and we were to do a 5 min run (jog) today. Actually, this was the workout today:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

Jog 3 minutes
Walk 90 seconds
Jog 5 minutes
Walk 2-1/2 minutes
Jog 3 minutes
Walk 90 seconds
Jog 5 minutes

I remember when I thought 60 second run was a long time! Today I had to dig for it by the time we got to the last 5 minutes. I didn’t think I had it in me to finish it. But I did! Sarah one of my group running buddies is a great cheerleader and when we were finished she said it’s done; we made it! The coaches are fabulous support as well..always encouraging as we go around the park.

June 7th we are doing 20 minutes; I was thinking as the last 5 minute cycle ticked away..how in the world am I going to do 20 minutes!! But then I made myself think..I don’t have to do 20 minutes today and stay in the moment and just finish this 5; and so I did. It was a very slow but steady pace but I finished it…Whew! I finished it!  I had processed with a client earlier today about how she hadn’t recognized how far she had come in her own recovery and applying what she had learned to real life; and here I was doing the very same thing. I was now up to 5 minutes and maintaining my own personal pace; fighting the good fight, if you will, to finish it and not even realizing how far I’ve come since week one of the training.  Like I said, I can remember when I thought 60 seconds was a long time and Matt would never blow that whistle to stop running.  So now to get my two practice runs in this week to keep up the pace. I need to work on my diet a little.  Now on with the second half of training and to the Firecracker 5K Walk/Run.  

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

