I’ve got a feelin’…end of week 5 beginning of week 6

Yesterday was what our coach Matt called the Hope Run. Which for the beginning runners of the Genesis  program was our first non-stop 20 minute run/jog. He says if we finish this run we will have more hope that we can finish the race than we’ve ever had. It was a nice sunny hot day and all of those who could make it of the training groups were there. It was a big turn out. My running buddies Sarah and Kristen couldn’t make it; but they completed their 20 minutes on Saturday morning (go ladies!). Yesterday, I came with my phone so I could listen to music. I usually don’t because I want to be able to hear what is going on with the coaches etc.; but yesterday since we were going for 20 minutes I wanted to listen to music. I also thought 20 minutes; that will be about 4-5 songs..I can do this! So we started with a five-minute walk warm up and then the whistle blew to start running. My pace was steady and not too fast and I was able to maintain it. I did feel myself getting a little winded as time ticked on and we had the option to “take a 30 second breather” if needed; but I kept going. And then song “I’ve Got a Feelin” by the Black Eye Peas came on Pandora and I was yep I’ve got a feeling’ I can finish this 20 minutes! It was funny about this time I was going past Matt and he was saying “you can do anything for 3 minutes” and I was like Yesss! we are almost done! It had gone faster than I expected but I have to admit I was feeling it. And when that 3 minutes was up and I heard that whistle blow I was mentally doing the happy dance! I didn’t have it in me to do it physically. Seriously, I was excited that I had completed the 20 minutes; I have NEVER done that ever in my life. I texted some of my friends to let them know we were done and drank two bottles of water.  It was quite the moment. There was a picnic afterwards but I felt sticky and sweaty and I wanted a shower. So I high-five some folks and talked about what we just did and I headed home to clean up. It was a good day. So now we are on to Tuesday for our regular group practice and pick up my t-shirt for the July 3rd race….I’ve got a feeling’…..

Picture courtesy of Matt Young.
Picture courtesy of Matt Young.
Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

