Determination–Week 6 Part 2

I usually don’t write a second post during the same week but as I was doing my first solo practice run today I thought I might.  It was crazy hot out there today; I think it was over 90 degrees but with the humidity it felt much hotter. I changed into my gym clothes at work so I could just stop by track at the school on my way home. When I got to the track no one was there; I turned on the C25K app, the map my run app, and Pandora and I was all ready to go and I got started. I was all alone on the track. I started thinking..I must be crazy! It is insanely hot out here; who else in their right mind would be out here in this heat. Honestly, I was thinking and feeling many things…I thought about being out there on the track by myself and the friends I had asked to do this adventure with me several times before I had actually decided to just go ahead and do it. And what it would be like to have at least one of them out there with me and what that would be like..Then I thought on about how I must be really determined to do this thing because here I am out here by myself running in this crazy freaking hot weather. So on I went 10 minute run/jog, 3 minute walk, and finish with a 10 minute run/jog. I did  it! And boy was done! Honestly, I was a little disappointed that I had not reach the 2 mile mark when I was finished; but I guess that’s not the point. And I know the heat slowed me down a little. Here is the screen shot of the map my run:

Screenshot_2015-06-11-19-13-21

It’s just me going around the track at a local school; when I compare it to some of the others my pace has improved a little but it seems to be pretty much the same. But I guess that’s ok; I’m maintaining a pace that works for me. And if I read over my previous post I have to remember why I started this in the first place…to finish the race. Maybe the heat had an effect on me or something or this is just a tough week. I’m not competing with anyone in this thing; and as soon as I was done with run I texted my group running buddies Sarah and Kristen to let them know I was done. Sarah said she did hers today as well and it was a bit of a struggle for her too because of the heat and Kristen will be doing her run tomorrow morning.

My friend Rita is going to help me on Saturday with the second one as far as timing and pace; she’s been running for a couple of years now; as I mentioned in the last post. So the first solo practice run of week 6 is complete now to prepare for the second. One way I’m going to do that is probably get a knee brace for my left knee for a little bit of extra support.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Determination–Week 6 Part 2”

  1. Hot weather can definitely affect your performance, so don’t worry about your time, getting out there and getting it done is a great job already! Just make sure to drink lots of water to stay hydrated, in these times it’s even more crucial than usually! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I will definitely focus on getting it done rather than the time. I think I was having a bad day and had too high expectations for where I am in the training and the weather. I did have my water with me..drank it like a camel!

      Like

  2. Tammi – you’re doing great. Just think back to 6 weeks ago and that first time you ran. You have made great progress. The weather will definitely decrease your pace and that’s OK because you’re still out there doing your homework. I can’t wait to see everyone finish their first race in a few weeks. It’s an experience you will never forget and changes your life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

