Week 7–Rain, Rain..go away!

We’ve made it through 6 weeks of training without rain; which Matt our coach pointed out last week and this week..guess what…RAIN. Well, storms. It had been raining on and off all day; and just prior to our group training a storm came through Charleston. Now, I have to confess I’m not big on rain or snow. I was never one of those kids who like to go out and play in the rain and didn’t get into snowball fights; I like to be dry and warm..that’s just me. So I debated if I would go to the group practice or hit the gym to do my training tonight. We are now up to 25 minutes of continuous running no stopping from here on out. So even if I didn’t go to the group workout; I was still going to get my run in tonight. In the end I decided to go the gym. So anyone who reads this please…no judgements!

I got on the treadmill and with the C25K app which is right on schedule with our training; I did my 25 minute run/jog. I maintained my pace as always but I will admit the treadmill is different from running outside. Nonetheless, I still didn’t try to over do it just because I was on a treadmill. I wanted to keep my normal pace that I do when I’m outside. But I can tell that my stamina is improving. Last Saturday was my first time running out and back rather than on a track (22 minutes that day) and it was different pacing myself that way. My friend Rita who I was going to ask to assist me with my pacing was on a trail that morning but we talked later that day. She is still going to assist me in the coming days and last few weeks of training.

So here we are in week seven. I can’t believe it seriously; who would have thought I would be to this point? I’ve stuck with it. Last week was tough and I had doubts. My friends who know what I’m doing have been very supportive and encouraging. I even had a couple of encouraging comments on this blog last week. So I’m going to finish this week’s practices runs both of which are 25 minute continuous out and back runs rather than being on a track…gotta work on that pacing! And go from there…BTW…I just got a text from my running buddy Kristen that practice was almost canceled because of the storms but as he talked it cleared up but it wasn’t and out and back practice as planned just in case the storms started up again…so I’m cool with being at the gym on the treadmill. 🙂

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

