It’s all about that pace..not that bass..Week 8.

We’ve made to week eight of our nine week training…I can’t believe it! We are now less than two weeks to our race. We are now working on our pacing with out and back runs. In our coach Matt’s email this week; he talked about the mental aspect and focusing on the positive. It was a timely email; since we are working on pacing I was feeling a little discouraged where I was and I emailed Matt telling him. Last Thursday I was doing my second run of the week and I “ran” into the Genesis Thursday training group. So I joined them; but I lagged behind I was last in the group..they had already started when I caught up with them..they were about 3-4 minutes ahead of me. But anyway I started to put myself down about my pace and then I read Matt’s email. So I pulled it together.  Focused on the progress that I’ve made since we started the program. I once thought 60 seconds was a long time and now I’m running 25 minutes straight.

Then on Saturday I was at the track at the school near my house and I finally hit two miles! My pace was a little better according the map my run app; but I was out there by myself. So on Monday I was off the track and back on the boulevard for an out and back run..as Matt says Easy start, Strong Finish. So I’m working on that.

So tonight we were up to 28 minutes (Easy start, Strong Finish)…I think I did better this evening. I was with people in the group and I paced myself better. I wasn’t worried about where I was in the group. And I did ok! I will admit I’m still nervous about the 5k coming up..but I will do my best to focus on the positive and my goal..to finish the race. I’m not competing with anyone. My friend Rita keeps telling me that I’ve got this and I’ve never quit anything I’ve started. And she’s right. Sometimes doubt creeps in but when I was on my return run tonight, I kept saying, I can do this and when it was done; I thought I could have gone just a little further. (ha!). Now my legs are a little sore so I will let them rest tomorrow.

I was reading an article in Runners World (yep I’m all in baby) and I found one of particular interest to me as an addiction therapist and as a new runner.

http://www.runnersworld.com/runners-stories/high-on-running

What this man went must have gone through to not only get sober but to lose the weight. I’m sure it wasn’t an easy process but he did it and look at him now..This is exactly what I try to get across to the people who I work with; so if he can do that..I can definitely do this. So I will keep working on my pace Easy Start, Strong Finish.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “It’s all about that pace..not that bass..Week 8.”

  1. I have been following your blog since Matt posted the info in one of his emails to us. I can relate to your training runs. I too went to a school track, and logged my time and distance. Your hard work and persistence will bring about the goal you have set. I can’t wait to see your proud and happy face after you cross the finish line on July 3rd. You are going to rock that run!

    Like

Leave a Reply

