Race Week! Week 9

I typically write my post the evening of our group training session but my internet was down last night so I’m a day late.  But anyway, here we are at week nine! The last week and race week..the race is on Friday.  Last night Matt went over race preparations and we met actually at the race site rather than our normal place. It was a windy, stormy evening; as I’ve mentioned in other posts I don’t like to be out in the elements, rain, snow…but guess what I was out running in the rain last night! Yep, Matt got me! So I guess I’m an offical runner now! Whoo! It was good energy last night everyone is excited about this week, and some, myself include are a little nervous. But I guess that’s to be expected if you’ve never done this. Several people told me that would settle down once we got there.

We were asked to submit our goals for the race and as I’ve stated throughout this entire blog, my goals have been to go the distance and finish the race.  A quick side note…I won a free Genesis Training last night for submission of my goals, for either the next training which starts next week or the fall training session..so I guess I’m in for the next one! That was cool. So if I remember my goals and that I’m not in competition with anyone out there I should do just fine. These nine weeks have gone by quickly; not only have I’ve gotten ready for this 5k but the health benefits have been noticeable as well. I have had people notice how toned I’ve gotten. That’s been a bonus of all of this.

Matt stressed keep everything as we have over these nine weeks, no new shoes, sports bras, socks, nothing. Keep everything as it has  been..good advice I must say. So I’m going to where my favorite shorts, and sports bra that I like to run in that are comfortable and my Brooks. See you on race day.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

