Back in my Brooks

wpid-wp-1444438716520.jpg

I haven’t had my running shoes on for many, many weeks; maybe twice since I ran my 5k in July (my first). Not sure why, maybe it was laziness, not finding the time to get back out there, who knows, the fact remains I haven’t been in my Brooks. I trained with The Genesis Program (WV Run Coach) and it was great but it seems like I lost my motivation after that. So two days ago, I packed my running gear and took it to work with plans to go running after work. Since I hadn’t run in so long I took it easy and used the C25K app that I also used in conjunction with the training and started with week 6 (a nice even number) just to see how I would do. I also knew it would break it up into intervals so I could baby step back into it and not over do it. So I started out with a 5 minute walk warm up 5 minute jog/run, 3 minute walk, 8 minute jog/run, 3 minute walk, and then 5 minute jog/run, with a then a cool down. I felt pretty good, keep an even pace, which has decreased since July, but of course that’s to be expected. But it felt pretty good to be back out there, I had forgotten how comfortable my shoes were; felt like coming home. When I was done with my workout/run, I was tired but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, easing back into was good.

The next day, I packed my bag again, and right after work I was back out there. This time I stepped it up a little, started with a 5 minute warm up walk and then I went for 28 minutes non-stop. Actually, to be honest I hit the wrong workout on the app, I was a day ahead of where I wanted to be, but I just went with it. So 28 minutes, easy start, at a pace that I could hold. Again, I’m not at the pace I was in July, but that’s ok, I have to build back up, but I kept a slow steady pace for those 28 minutes and didn’t stop and I was proud of myself, tired when I was done, but proud that I finished it without stopping. When I was done I sent a text to my running buddies Kristen and Sarah who I went through the training with to let them know what I had done and I was back in my Brooks…This time though, I could feel it in my legs, they were a little sore. Today, I rested I didn’t want to over-extend. I want to do what I did during my training and run at least 3 times per week. The target race this time is the Jingle Bell Run/Walk (Jingle Bell Run/Walk) on December 5, 2015. I might try one in the fall, but the goal race is that one. So we’ll see how I do for this race..

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Back in my Brooks”

  1. Yay Tammi! Fall is a wonderful time to put the Brooks back on your feet! It is awesome to run in the cooler temps. I’ll see you at the Jingle Bell Run.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

