Training update..

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted. I been doing my best to keep a regular running schedule. I have to admit it’s not as easy doing it by myself as it was when I was doing it with the group. I have some things to interrupt my flow as well; I was out-of-town for a business meeting in Las Vegas two weeks ago. I stayed in the NewYorkNewYork and like all the hotels in Vegas it was huge! I kept getting all turned around in there; I was flashing back to Vegas Vacation. I did a lot of walking (I mean a lot) so much so my shins started to hurt but I but I didn’t get to run while I was there. So when I got home I had to make up for that week. I check in with the ladies I met during the Genesis group and let them know what I’m doing and get a few encouraging texts messages from them. I understand why having people to work out is so important beyond the accountability the camaraderie is important as well.

Posting to this blog was helpful to me as well as far as accountability was concerned but since I completed the Genesis training I’ve started working on my doctorate degree and the assignments keep me busy and I’m still working on finding my rhythm to balance school, work (a new job), my grandmother, you know life…as we all know it. Now it’s dark when I get up and dark when I go home and still being somewhat of a new runner that presents new challenges for me as far as outside running, particularly by myself. As a learned, treadmills just aren’t the same. As I said in my previous post my goal race is the Jingle Bell Run/Walk on December 5th. But I have signed up for the Hot Diggity Dog Thanksgiving 5k sorta as a warm up, if you will for the Jingle Bell and to also keep me focused on the goal.

This is a short post but I felt a need to update this blog so I can stay in the routine of doing it; it helped before I may as well stick with what works. 🙂

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Training update..”

  1. You are a busy person! I believe that even a short running break can help us de-stress and function better. It will be good to see you at the Hot Diggity and Jingle Bell runs. Your Genesis family will be at both races in large numbers! We always like to get a pre-race alumni pic, so watch for familiar faces and be part of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

