Small Milestones

This morning I went out for a practice run in preparation for the upcoming Hot Diggity Dog Thanksgiving 5K. It was a chilly 36 degrees, sun was coming up, not much traffic. it was actually a beautiful morning for a run. I was just taking in the scenery around as I ran, the sun casting it’s light on the cars melting the frost. I had my headphones on, my 10k app (week 10 day 3), and the map my run app. It was good to be outside, I have been going to the gym recently because it’s dark when I’m done with work and I don’t have any gear for night-time running, so I’ve been on the treadmill…I miss summer..sigh…But to compensate I have been using the incline to work on my stamina and it’s great for my booty too! It must be paying off because as I was running I noticed I seemed to be running a little faster than I normally do and my breathing was just fine. The 10k app has the intervals broken up in 15 minutes each with a 1 minute walk in between each. I skip the walk and keep running. This time before the first 15 minutes was up I had completed one mile! I had never done this before!! I actually said out loud WOW! I couldn’t believe it; I knew my pace had improved. But in the back of my mind I was thinking I hope I hadn’t started out too fast, remembering what I had learned in my Genesis training “easy start, strong finish” I didn’t want to run out of steam before I finished my run. I kept going and before I knew it I had completed two miles. I knew my time was good so I kept on going. The voice on the 10k app came on and said I was on run 3 of 3 and I turned around headed back towards the way I started. I was getting a little winded but before I knew I heard the voice say 3 miles! I was like YES!! I knew it was at 30 minutes or so and I was thrilled!! The 5k I did in July (my first) I finished in 48:26:6. By the time I finished the last 15 minutes of the run I had completed 4.15 miles!! I was doing the happy dance!! With what energy I had left! It is a small milestone for me but a big one at the same time, it’s the longest run I’ve done and my best time. I hope to do as well at my next 5k on Thanksgiving.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

