The Jingle Bell 5k

 

Yesterday I ran the Jingle Bell 5k (Jingle Bell Run/Walk.) It’s been a week since the Thanksgiving 5k and the weather was much different! It was a very chilling 26 degrees when I got up by the time I got to the race site it had crept up to about 32 degrees. But those who had ran the race last year told me it was much it was colder and rainy and today we were on the way to a sunny 50 degree day. There were over 300 people registered and this time I wasn’t as nervous as my last two races. I had signed up to be on Matt Young team my Genesis training coach. He had new training group there getting ready for their first race. How excited they must have been. I have to give a shout out to Barbara Jackson, I met her during my training with Genesis she has been a big support and she found me at this race and the Thanksgiving race to check in; she is so encouraging as are all the Genesis people that I have met. That’s one of the gifts that I have gotten from running I’ve met some really nice people who want to see you do well.

We go out to line up for the race and it’s cold but I know this won’t last long once we start running, I have my gloves on the last time I went out on an early morning run my hands went numb and it was distraction for me. So we are off and I think I’m at a good pace; headphones on and the sun is coming up by now. This course is flat and pretty straight forward. It actually goes through my old college campus The University of Charleston  and there are some students out cheering as we run by; I also notice there is a sign for registration for the SAT’s being given there as I run pass. I’m feeling pretty good so far and I keep on going and I hit the mile mark, that was quick! But as I’m doing that I see Matt coming back towards me heading back..I had never seen Matt in a race and he was doing his thing…but I continue on my quest and stay focused. Finally get to the turn around and I start to feel myself slow down a little my legs get a little tired. So I start to talk to myself “I got this, I can do this” “I just did this a week ago.” And then I could hear the announcer and I knew I was almost there; I was hoping I would be close to my last finish time and not over. I wasn’t sure. As I crossed the finish line…I saw my time and I was 2 minutes less than an a week ago! I was like YES!! Thrilled I was! And Matt and Barbara were both there at the finish line to congratulate me and ask me how I did; as were other Genesis team members. It was a good morning for a good cause as well.

I didn’t realize how much I would get from running, I’ve met some great people, I’ve lost weight, I have more energy and sleep better. I more optimistic something that’s been missing for a long time, that’s a great benefit and one that I’m most grateful.

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “The Jingle Bell 5k”

  1. 🙂 I can feel the excitement in your post! I love it! Congratulations on meeting your goal for this race and your new PR. Your posts remind me that every race is different – challenges, weather, running friends, course and our own strengths and weakness on any given day. But with it all, I have never left a race thinking that I regretted my participation! Genesis and Matt have my heart. Like you, I have met so many great people and developed new friendships. Thank you for your kind words about me in your post. I believe that you have caught the running bug, and I’m convinced that I will see you training, or at another race soon. Easy start, strong finish friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

