Gotta Find My Mojo

It has been awhile since I have posted to this blog and it had also been awhile since I had been on run, that is until yesterday. After doing my first three 5k’s last year; with my last one in December “I took a break” there was a lot going on…blah, blah, blah. Anyone who is a true runner knows those are just plane old excuses. I got lazy and the longer I did not run the easier it got not to run and come to up with reasons not to run. In that time there have been changes I started working on my doctorate, I have a new job, some more personal things have happened and with all these changes I have not taken as good care of myself. My mood is not great and I can tell I have gained some of the weight I lost last year. I know when I was running at least three times a week I felt better, it was not even about losing weight I just felt better. So being in a weird space and it was going to be in the mid 60’s here yesterday I decided to get out on the pavement. I emailed a friend of mine earlier in the week to see if she would like to go with me; we have been talking about going running together for months and have never done it. She agreed and I was happy about that it would be nice to have someone to run with versus being out there by myself as I typically am.

We made arrangements to meet Saturday afternoon we both had family obligations to take care of prior to meeting. I wanted someone to run with so I could not talk myself out going, hold me accountable. If someone was expecting me I would not back out. But just before we were supposed to meet she texted that she was not going to be able to meet me. I will admit my first reaction was “well this typical” not just of her of anyone. I have come to expect people to not be reliable and follow through. So it was moment of truth time…I could get mad and not go or I could just suck it up and go because I wanted to get back out there and run. And that’s what I did. I came home changed my clothes and went for a run.

Once I was out there I quickly realized I was not where I left off in December. My pace was much slower and several times I had to stop,walk and catch my breath. I lost my mojo! Whew! I’m not sure if I was disappointed, frustrated or what but if I am going to meet the goal of running a half-marathon by the fall I have a long way to go!! I can’t believe I let this happen. The good thing is I know what to do to make it right. So after the run or walk I went to the gym and signed up for circuit training so I can back on a schedule and get my mojo back. I feel much better when I have it and even if I don’t make the goal of the half-marathon, I want to feel better again.

 

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

