Weekly Wrap Up

It has been a week today since I got back out on the pavement and realized I had lost my mojo. The weather has not been as warm as it was last Saturday but I have not stopped being active. So to the gym I went..and I  became reacquainted with the treadmill. I am still building back up but I was able to go just a little longer than on Saturday. I also signed up for circuit training this week to start building up my muscles in between the days I run. So on Tuesday I met with the personal trainer and she worked me through the circuit training. And let me just say….I have work to do! I have not used weight machines in awhile and my muscles knew it! 🏋 This will be important to my training, I did not do this last year so I am upping my game and adding this to my routine. Next week I am doing Synergy Training which is a little like Cross Fit from what I am told and I call Cross Fit a Cult so I’m needless to say I’m a little nervous about this one. I wanted to get into a spinning class today but I was waitlisted and could not get in 😞 So I will try again next week. I have not been in one of those classes. Our city is small and I was surprised that there was even one here; so it is no wonder there was a waiting list to get in to the class. I was excited (still am)  about trying it out.

I think my plan will be to alternate between Circuit and Synergy Training on the days I don’t run. I’m hoping that will get me in the best shape possible for the my goal this year of doing a half-marathon. My goal marathon the Disney Wine and Cheese Half-Marathon in November. I will do a few 5k’s of course throughout the spring and summer. I may start with Susan G Komen in May.

That is this weeks wrap up..Oh! I got my new Garmin Vivosmart HR this week; upgraded from the basic Garmin Vivofit. And today I climbed 13 flights of stairs!

~Happy Running

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

1 thought on “Weekly Wrap Up”

  1. Sounds like you mean business with your plans and goal! Good luck. I will be watching for posts about your progress. And also watching for the pic of your happy face when you cross the finish line of your first half marathon. You can do it. The encouragement of my Genesis friends convinced me that I could really could do a half if I trained for it, and it happened. Easy start – strong finish.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

