Working My Way Back

It’s been four weeks since I discovered I had lost my mojo. I’ve been at the gym working out and I am building up my stamina and my distance again. Yeah! I also have incorporated circuit training and Synergy Training into my workouts as well. Both of those workouts were something! The Synergy Training really put me through it since I was using my body as the weight; I think I could have benefited more from it if the trainer was more engaged in training and not overly involved with the “Stepfords” who were also in the group; it was very annoying. But never the less I did get a workout, although next time I hope there is a different trainer.

I’ve signed up for my first 5k of my season The Susan G Komen Race For The Cure on May 7, 2016. I didn’t do any of the Winter Series Runs here in the area for a couple of reasons, the first as you now know I was a running MIA and second I just don’t like cold weather. Seriously, I absolutely despise it people. I have never liked cold weather. I even use my little heater in my office during the hottest days of the summer…I don’t like cold weather. So my first 5k will be the SGK I haven’t up my page yet I hope to get to that this weekend so if anyone would like to donate to the cause of breast cancer you can on my page.

I wish I had a running partner to do this with it would be more fun and it would help keep me accountable. But the ones who say they will be there usually don’t follow through or aren’t consistent. I get we are all busy I guess it just comes down to how bad we want it. Running has become a way to help keep me balanced and a means for me to clear my head when life gets a little overwhelming, stressful and crazy. When I wasn’t doing it during those few months I could tell the difference in how I was functioning. Anyway, my goal race is still the Disney Wine and Cheese Half-Marathon in November. I just got an email update about this race yesterday. Registration opens up at the end of this month.

Until next time~~~Happy Running~~~Easy Start Strong Finish

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Working My Way Back”

  1. Yes, running with others is tough. That’s why I mostly run alone. I have to admit it’s kind of satisfying to do it alone. Do you belong to a running club? If so, they might offer group runs. If not, your local running store might offer group or social runs.

    Like

    1. There is a running store here and I think they have a weekly running group. But I have gotten used to running alone I plug my headphones in and go and I can set my own pace. It’s probably better but I do like to work out with others it makes it just a little more fun.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

