Genesis 2.0

Well today I signed up again for the Genesis Running Program. The Spring Session starts next week. This time there is a Saturday morning session which makes it even better; I don’t have to rush right after work to get there, bonus! It has been a little hard to keep myself focused and motivated in my training solo. The folks who tell me they will go running with me have not been very reliable so it has been easy to talk myself out of going for a run. I did not get to sign up for the Disney half-marathon the day registration opened up the slots filled up quickly. I went to sign up a day after registration opened and it was already closed! 😦  I was disappointed and I think the wind was knocked out of my sails. So I have to find another half-marathon to train for in the fall. But anyway, I thought I would get back with the Genesis group for more support and I would be doing the graduate program which will help with my half-marathon goal; I can continue to cross train on the off days.

It is amazing how quickly you can fall out of training. I haven’t totally stopped it is just not as consistent as I would like it to be or needs to be. Now that I’ve paid a fee that will definitely help but more importantly the accountability of the group helps tremendously. It was this time last year that I actually started running so it is my running anniversary, why not celebrate it with the group that got me started! 🙂

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

