My Running Anniversary

Well today was supposed to be the first 5k of “my” season with the Susan G. Komen race but I’ve had some small medical issues and my Dr. advised me not to run a full 5k until after my follow up appointment this coming week. So I did do a small run with the Genesis group this morning, it was the first day of the new program for the Saturday group. I did a slow pace and only about 25 minutes, I think that was ok I felt pretty good.

There was a good turn out for today’s group. A lot of first time runners and a few of us graduates of the program. In fact there was one person who was in the group that I was in last year! That was cool. It has been exactly one year today since I started running; I received notification from Map My Run letting me know of my anniversary. Hard to believe I’m still running a year later. I didn’t think I would stick with it honestly but running has become a form of meditation for me. Even today when I had to keep it slow and easy, it was ok. It was a nice cool morning and I was running along side the river with the sun shining off the water. I was a little disappointed I could not do the SGK race but I was still able to do a little something on my anniversary and that’s all that really mattered…I was out there! 🏃🏾

Here’s to Genesis 2.0 and happy anniversary to me!

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

