Tapped Out… :-(

Yesterday I was doing my practice run for the Genesis Program. It was only a 30 minute run for the graduate group. It had been a long, frustrating day, you know dealing with a knucklehead family member who should know how to take care of things but isn’t doing it and I have to (well I didn’t have to I choose to) clean up the mess, so my grandmother wouldn’t be upset. I was so angry because in the end I found out I he was trying to take advantage of me and the only reason I wasn’t was because of my work as a substance abuse therapist and how I handled the situation. I work with manipulative behavior everyday and if I let people eventually do for themselves they will take care of what they need to do. I tell this to family members everyday and true enough he did. But none the less I was furious so if I ever needed to run it was yesterday.

It was primary day here in WV (so can not even talk about that..geeze!) So after I cast my ballot I was off to the track, which is at the same school where I voted. It was a nice day, a little breezy, and about 80/81 degrees or so. I started with a 5 minute brisk walk warm-up and then I was off for my run. I was doing pretty good me and my headphones, I was feeling pretty good, good rhythm, not over doing it. I made it to the half-way mark, still feeling good, knew I was almost there. Then something happened, I felt my body fighting to keep going, so I slowed down a little, thinking I may have increased my speed too much for the last half. But still my body was going against me and felt heavy,  I had seven minutes left to finish the 30 minutes and as hard as i tried I couldn’t do it so I had to stop and walk, well actually, I had to just stop for a minute and just go to my knees. I’m not sure what happened. I’ve gone for longer periods of time in hotter weather last summer, this has never happened. I have been having some issues with hydration and I see the doctor tomorrow, no idea if that is a contributor. So I walked the rest of the time and lowered my heart rate. But I was totally disappointed. I sent an email to both of the coaches of the Genesis program and received some encouraging feedback. So I see what the doctor says tomorrow and see how the next run goes this week.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

