It was a better day πŸ˜ƒ

This morning was our Saturday morning Genesis Running Group. It was a cloudy, overcast 59/60 degree day, it looked like a threat of ran at any moment. And at the practice site they were setting up for this big barbecue tasting that will taking place later this morning so it smelled great! Our regular coach John was out of town today so Matt filled in. The group looked a little smaller today but those of us who were there were ready to go. After instruction on proper breathing, Matt gave the grads (me) our instructions which as a 30 minute run 15 minutes out and 15 back. Then gave the beginners there instructions.

So myself and Rich, who I’ve know for years through work and was in the program last year and Chris who was also in the program last year, headed down the boulevard together. I was admittedly nervous given my last time out and I had been to the doctor an she told me my blood pressure was low. Mine typically runs low but this time it was much lower like 80/59, which could have been why it felt like my body was fighting the last time. So we headed out for our 30 minutes. I felt good, pace was good, actually it was better than I thought according to my Garmin Vivofit. Before I knew it 15 minutes had passed I and was doing fine. I was keeping up with the fellas and my breathing was good, my body was cooperating. The turn around our pace continued to pretty good, I was a little bit behind the boys but not too far, still in good shape. It started to rain just a little but no matter all was well, I was back in stride. I felt good and we were almost back at our starting point. By the time we got back the rain had stopped and we had completed 3.41 miles.

screenshot_2016-05-14-11-52-59.png

So today was much better than the last time I was out..and I’m so glad about that! πŸƒπŸΎ

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “It was a better day πŸ˜ƒ”

  1. Happy belated runnerversary!! I understood how you felt when I read your last post. I have been out of sync the past couple of months. My daughter had twin boys on March 29 and I am helping with their care. I am a first time Grandma, and happy beyond words. But, I am sleep deprived !! On many days I just haven’t had the energy to get out for a run, even though I know I would feel better if I did. I have never gone for a run and returned home saying that I was sorry that I made the effort. Like you, I went out today and it felt great to be in the fresh air. I am in Maryland and there are beautiful places to run close to Jessica’s apartment. So, I hope that my slump is over and I am ready to start again. Running and the friends that I have met along the way put me in my happy place, Your pace today was FaNtAsTiC! Congrats on completing a great run. Hope to see you at Genesis soon!

    Like

    1. Hi Barbara congratulations on the grandbabies! I’m sure your daughter is grateful for the help with twins that’s quite an adjustment. I was glad to be able to complete that run yesterday I felt better. This week we start the intervals; I’m going to have to read those again to understand to workout to get it right. I’m sure I can do it I just want to be sure I’m doing it correctly. When I got home signed up for the Memorial Day 5k. See you soon..enjoy your grandbabies!

      Like

Leave a Reply

