Memorial Day 5k

Today I ran the First Annual Charleston Memorial Day 5k. It was my first 5k since December of last year. I also had my Genesis Running class this morning but since I was running this race I figured I had a good reason to miss class because I was running this morning anyway 😆 As with any race I’ve done I’m always nervous before it started; that is always bothersome. I know when the race starts the nervousness will quickly go away. When I got there I ran into another Genesis classmate RuthAnn, this is her first time in the Genesis program so she was walking the 5k; but it was great to see a familiar face. It was a beautiful, bright, sunny day; it was going to be hot too but at the time of the race it was about 64 degrees and climbing. The gun went off at 830 and we were off! I always start in the back and I had an easy pace that I kept the whole time but it felt like I was going slower than I have been lately. I know I have been having some issues lately with my BP but I thought with it not being as hot it would be better today. The route was a straightforward flat course out and and back, very easy, no hills. I had my Garmin Vivoft HR on which is connected to the mapmyrun app so tracking was going on…By the time I got to the finish line I was hot, sweaty, and toast..my unofficial time was 42:25 I was disappointed..I had hoped to do 35. But 42 is my average so I didn’t add to my time so I guess that’s cool.

screenshot_20160528-174622.png

When I finished a woman who finished behind me came up to me and said “you ran a good race, you kept a consistent pace the whole time”. That was pretty cool and I felt better about my time.

wp-1464469443198.jpg

My first 5k is done, I’ll keep up the training runs to hit that 35. I know I probably shouldn’t focus on the number, It is just good that I’m out there in the race in the first place and not on the couch. Until next time..keep on running…Easy start..Strong finish.. 🏃🏾

wp-1464469476121.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Memorial Day 5k”

Leave a Reply

