Hot day in the city

It has been pretty hot the last several days here in Charleston, WV; the hottest days of the year. Today I decided to meet with the Tuesday night Genesis group to get one of my runs in this week. My friend Rich from the Saturday group was meeting me there. They have a big group on Tuesday! Which is good to see. The beginners were doing their first out and back run tonight 25 minutes; 12.5 minutes out and 12.5 minutes back. John who was filling in for Matt had the advanced folks to do the same given the heat and humidity; and I was cool with that..or rather I wished it was cool. The funny thing is I love it when it’s hot; I’m not one to complain about it when it hot. This is my season ☀️ love spring and summer! But as some of you know the heat does affect how you run. And I could feel it today, so I did a slow pace and even with that I could feel the impact of the heat. My heart rate went up quickly and it was difficult to keep it in my target range of 132.

wp-1465948353637.jpg

My average  HR was 155 and my max was 175 I now know the heat played a role in my HR getting that high. It was difficult to keep it down even when I slowed my pace down; as I’m sure most of you who have been running for awhile already know. I like what I’m learning about running through this program it helps to keep me safe and healthy, in addition to improving my pace and distance; that half-marathon may happen yet! That’s why I think it is a good idea for anyone to do training program like Genesis it is very beneficial. I also meet some pretty cool people as well. Leslie, mentioned she reads this blog, (it’s nice to know people read it) and another woman who is in the graduate program and ran for an hour in this heat, came up to me after we were done and offered me a very cold, icy bottle of water. She said “you look like you were sweating as much as me and could use it”; is that not the best..and funny too. It was hot out there folks and I drank that water down! Runners are a different breed of people..thank goodness..

Until next time, stay cool and safe in the heat…☀️ 🏃🏾

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

