My longest run

Tonight we had severe storm warnings with strong winds in the forecast and I had planned to go running with one of my Genesis group members Rich. I sent him a text earlier today to be sure we were still on for this evening; he finally responded when I got home from work about 4:30 and he suggested we go a different route around our state Capitol which was cool the change of scenery would be nice.

west-virginia-capitol-582
Our state Capitol is gorgeous! It was our starting and ending point.

It looked like it had rained earlier and the humidity was down a little which was great; but it didn’t look like storms were looming so we did a brief warm up and we were off for what was to be a 50 minute out and back. This would be my longest run I have ever done.

wpid-20150703_1854590.jpg
This is Rich and me last year at the end of our very first 5k. I forgot to take a pic this evening. We both have lost weight!! Whoo!

As we went along the humidity went up but amazingly enough we had gone 20 minutes before we knew it! Rich said “are we going for 25?” And I’m like yep I can do it! And we kept on going. Now, admittedly the heat was starting to get to me but I was breathing pretty good and my HR was staying pretty even this time. Twenty-five minutes came before we knew it and we were on our way back towards the Capitol. Half-way back I started to feel it..I was like OMG where is the damn Capitol! Did they move it?? I know this was the heat talking but I had a slight moment. Anyway, we got back to the Capitol at 49:40 Ugh! Just shy of the 50 mins. We agreed not to look at the time until we got back to the starting point. We had gone 4.98 miles..blah!..just under 5! Booo! If I was watching the time I think we would have kept going but oh well…It’s all good. This may seem small to some but it is huge to me. I can see my progression and when I look at where I was last year I’m like wow! It’s only been a year. So I’m pleased. I did much better with my HR this time and this was the longest run I’ve done YEA! So I’m happy with all said..

wp-1466123002969.jpg
Much better HR this time..

Our next group run is on Saturday. This has been a good week much better than last week!

Happy running everyone..Easy start..Strong Finish..

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

1 thought on “My longest run”

  1. Tammi, you are doing fantastic! Your speed and perseverance in the heat of the evening is wonderful! This chick doesn’t function that well when the temp is above 75. 🙂 Hope to see you soon. I became a Grandmother of twins March 29, and those babies are keeping me busy and sidelined. Congrats on your summer progress!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

