Nice morning..Good run…

Today was our regular Genesis Saturday group run but only two graduates showed up this morning 😞  me and my running buddy Rich. There were a lot of things going on today one of the hospitals in the area was having a 5 mile run to support cancer awareness and it was also the start of a two week city festival called FestivAll Charleston when the city of Charleston becomes a work of art! So it is not too surprising that there were only two of us here today. The beginners group started at nine, but by the time they would arrive we would have started our run. Today was a 55 minute out and back run..whew! However, the weather is nice today, not nearly as hot, the humidity was much less and there is a nice little breeze.

The one thing we did differently this time was to start a slower pace (Easy Start). This was much better than the last run we did. My heart rate was good and we kept a good steady pace. We actually ran into the runners of the 5 mile race as the last of them were finishing; which also happened to be in the same area where they were setting up for the Chili Cook Off so it smelled delicious! Before we knew it 27.5 minutes flew by and I was doing fabulous! So we turned around and headed back and picked up our pace as well (Strong Finish). We passed the beginners group on their way out we waved and kept on going. Now I was starting to feel it; this was now the longest I’ve gone and I was getting a little wobbly in the legs. Rich saw that I was slowing down and he was like oh no! He kept saying come on! The bridge is right up there you can do it! We weren’t watching the time on purpose if we finished beyond where we started we knew we did well. The bridge was our marker once we got up the incline on the bridge, out actual starting point, that’s when we checked time and we had gone beyond our starting point with 5 minutes left! We did it! Although, we then realized we still had another 5 minutes before our run was done 😜  Of course it was over in no time and we had completed 5.68 miles!! Whoo!

wp-1466293354143.jpg

wp-1466291803362.png

We were tired but excited to have completed this run. People were gathering for the Wiener Dog Race at the park were start there were a lot of cute pups around. Sorry I was busy recuperating and forgot to snap a pic or two.

Until next time..happy running~~

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

7 thoughts on “Nice morning..Good run…”

    1. Congratulations on your first 5k!! And thank you. I started this blog primarily as a way to hold myself accountable. I’m really surprised how much I’ve started to enjoy running, the reason I started was honestly to get my self-confidence back after a difficult time in my personal life. It worked 😄 And I kept on going. Best to you in your running endeavors..

      Like

      1. Thanks so much! My blog is still private. Like you, I wanted a way to keep myself accountable in my weight loss journey, but I just don’t know if I want all that out there in the big bad world! I can’t wait to keep reading your posts!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

