Another training done

The last Genesis Running Group Training finished on July 1st with the FireCracker 5k although I was unable to participate (I was out of town) it looks like the Genesis group did really well. I’m so proud of them! Our last group training was on Tuesday June 28th.

wp-1468454221970.jpg
This is the whole group on our last group training before race day. I’m on the far right of the stage on the end. This same place was under water just two weeks prior from the floods that happened in WV See below.           Photo courtesy of Matt Young.

wp-1466868914392.jpg

I have to do my 5k and there is one coming up on July 23rd that I may do for my “finish the training race”.  The next session of the Genesis training program is beginning on Tuesday July 19th. I’m considering doing the training again for the advanced group; the last time I was a graduate. Matt, the coach said that graduates can just show up and start our runs on Tuesdays but I think I do better when I pay for the training because I think it holds me accountable more. Also if I’m serious about training for a half-marathon it may just make sense to officially sign up and just go for it. Like everyone else out there we all have busy lives, I’m working on my doctorate, take care of my grandmother, my job is crazy (I’m a substance use disorder therapist and my clients are just misbehaving these days) and I want to be sure to get this into the schedule. I also know running helps me to decompress too. So what are your thoughts? Do the program as an advanced member or not? What would you do?

Oh as a footnote I also decided to enter the Runners World Cover Search Contest. I thought what the heck! I have nothing to lose and it was totally out of the box and big risk for me. I can’t even believe I did it! But if you happen to check it out I’m number 611!

Until next time…happy running 🏃🏾

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

