Hot day…slow run…

Today was one of those tough run days. The Genesis program started the new series today after talking with Matt, the coach, I decided not to officially sign up this time. He told me I know the program pretty well now I have the training plans and since I now have a running buddy I should do fine. But he did understand how paying for something can help with accountability, one of the reasons I did it last time, and he said he would help me anyway he could whether I signed up or not which is great.

So my running buddy Rich and I met with group tonight (they had big turnout it was awesome to see). Since we did a long run on Saturday (6.25 miles) and it was crazy hot out we decided to do 45 minutes today. Once we got started I could feel the heat almost immediately. About 15 minutes into it I was already feeling tired, my legs were burning; we may have started a little too fast given the heat and humidity. We got to our turn around point and I had to slow down even with the slight breeze that was coming I was fighting for every step. I knew our pace was much slower than normal which was to be expected in this heat it was about 88-90 degrees with humidity even though it was 6 in the evening. On the way back I realized I probably wasn’t as hydrated as I needed to be for this type of weather I know I didn’t drink nearly enough water today and I paid for that mistake.

We completed the 45 minutes we set out to do, 4.42 miles, and I was done!! I had nothing left, I actually just crashed. I got some water quickly because I was a little light headed and I could not get my heart rate to go down; it would come down and then go right back up by this time was sitting on the ground. It took me about 10 minutes or so before I thought I was ready to go to my car. My HR had come down to about 87 and I didn’t feel light headed any more. It always amazes me the impact weather can have on how we perform, today was a tough one but we finished it and I’m glad we did. 🙂

Until next time…East start Strong Finish…Stay hydrated…

wp-1468978321771.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Hot day…slow run…”

Leave a Reply

