Running Club

Tonight I joined our local running club the Kanawha Running Club. I’ve heard about it at races and my running friend Barbara whom I met through the Genesis program has tried to get me to come and participate in this group for sometime now. So tonight I did and doing this would also let me get another run this week. I continue to amaze myself with some of things I’ve done since I started running; there was a time I would have never done this by myself my running buddy Rich was not able to go with me tonight. Running has given me so much and building my self-confidence has been the biggest gift. So I went down and met some people interestingly enough some of the folks I had seen at races and one person knew me from races and my previous job at the hospital, small world; and then my girl Barbara was there and I will admit I was totally relieved! She introduced me to some others and there was one other new person Andrew who started tonight too.

wp-1469147395293.jpg

We were given our shirts (YEA!) and we were told some about the group and when they do some of their runs and challenges each month. And then we were off. Barbara ran with me and it was in the low 90’s today (insane) and I remember what happened on Tuesday so we did intervals today and that made it much easier in the heat; so I didn’t over heat like I did the other day and my HR was better. It still went up there and took a little bit to come down when we finished but not nearly as long as it did on Tuesday, we completed about 4 miles. Barbara also gave me great tips about preparing for a half-marathon, nutrition, training, etc. It was a good run. Anyone else out with any other tips, all are welcome. 🙂

Anyone who has read this blog knows I do not like cold weather but since I’ve been running in the heat I think it may be converting me into a cool weather person. WHAT?! I love summer! Did the planets realign? I’m looking forward to cool weather? What is going on?!

Until next time..Happy running..stay cool…

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

