Hit 7 miles!

Today was my long run and the first time I hit 7 miles! 7.19 miles to be exact! I am totally stoked it almost feels like the first time I crossed the finish line. The funny thing is I almost didn’t go out this morning. I was having one of those mornings I just wanted to stay in the bed and sleep in but I knew my running buddy Rich was expecting me so I got up. Accountability is a great thing also I had bought a new pair of Brooks Adrenaline and I had to get them out on the pavement.

wp-1469284134657.jpg
My new Brooks are the blue ones on the right..Love them! They are so comfortable. My old ones got me started running; grateful to them!

During our warm up (we walked for about 5 mins; not included in the 7 miles). There were some firefighters taking pictures of the trucks in front of the Capital as we walked passed. We knew one of the guys so we attempted to stop and say hello. He was friendly but a little short; he ended by saying “enjoy your walk”. We were like walk? Do we look like we are going for a walk? Dude we are getting ready for a run. And run we did for 7.19 miles baby!

We were glad we got our run in early too we have a heat advisory for the rest of the day. It will be in the 90’s but will feel like it is in the 100’s. So be careful out there.

Happy Running..

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Hit 7 miles!”

  1. Congrats to you and Rich. It is an awesome feeling when we hit a new milestone with our running. I remember completing a quarter marathon race in St Albans, and believing for the first time that I really could run a half if I did the work to prepare. You passed the quarter marathon mark this morning – you are on your way. I’m happy for you and can hear the excitement in your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

