Bad eating equals sluggish run

It was a short run today 45 minutes. It was a good day for a run about 80 or so degrees and no humidity! Yeah! Which is great compared to the weather we have been having lately. Whew..But the issue today was bad eating…I ate terribly yesterday and I paid for it today. I felt heavy when I ran today. Just a like a child who doesn’t listen to their parents I knew better and I had to take the consequences for it. My body has gotten used to a different way of eating; not that I’m always on point with my diet but I don’t eat a lot of heavy junk like I used to back in the day; but yesterday was a different story and my body let me know it!

Enter in excuses…..I was having a stressful day, school was tap dancing on my nerves, I was a little annoyed at work, and I have a new medical diagnosis that I know will require a total change in how I eat all together—gluten free—That will be a lifestyle change. Not that I can’t do it; everything just came down at once. End of excuses…So I ate badly yesterday and it had an impact on how I ran today. Everything I have read speaks to eating clean and the affects it can have on your workouts, training, running, etc., welp it’s true.

Lessoned learned….happy running and clean eating…😀

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Bad eating equals sluggish run”

Leave a Reply

