Marshall University Half-Marathon

I’ve been saying my goal is to run a half-marathon in the fall for months now..well I made it official this week and I actually registered for one–YIKES–😳  Yes, I registered for the Marshall University Half-Marathon on November 6, 2016. I’m now totally invested there is money involved. When I started working towards the 5k last year and I had a moment of “I don’t know if I can do this” a friend said to me “Tammi have you ever set a goal you didn’t meet?” And the answer honestly is no, she was right..that’s why I decided to register for the half. I can keep talking about it until I’m blue in the face but until I put some action behind it, doesn’t mean a thing. So it just got real

marshall-home2
Go Herd!

I wonder if I should change the name of this blog to “My Trek to My First Half-Marathon”. Its been a little nutty the last week or so; my most recent class just ended on Wednesday and boy was I ready for that class to be done! I literally obsessed over my last paper over the last weekend, it was worth 300 points and was 50% of our grade! I did well but as I was working on the paper, my uncle became ill and at 530 last Saturday morning I was following an ambulance to the hospital. I was there for a few hours and my aunt was there as well; so I left to check on my grandmother and then work on my paper. I had to clean my uncle’s room which I put off until Sunday because I needed to focus on that freakin paper. So I ended up just taking all my stuff to my grandmother’s while I did his laundry cleaned his room and worked on my paper. Needless to say I didn’t get much….or any running in the whole weekend which carried over into the week. I finally got back out yesterday and I did another short run this evening. A short run because night caught me..sigh..the days are starting to get shorter as fall starts to slowly creep up on us. I love summer but I will say it was nice to be out tonight without the heat and humidity.

My uncle is home from the hospital and doing fine. I got an A on that dang paper and an A in the class YEAH! And I registered for a half-marathon, is there anymore I can do? I have a few weeks break before my next class. For those who don’t know I’m working on my doctorate degree in Counseling Psychology, I’m looking forward to this break maybe I can get a few extra runs in!

Until next time…keep on training…keep on running…

Tammi

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Marshall University Half-Marathon”

  1. Congrats on signing up for your first half marathon! It will be a great experience for you. Your life has been very busy. Enjoy the school break and the accomplishments in your class.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

