First Day of Training 🏃🏾

Today was the first day of the Genesis Half Marathon Training Program. I’m back with Matt and his assistant coach Jason to prepare for the Marshall University Half-Marathon on November 6th. There were about 16 of us there which was nice to see such a large number of people; and there was some people from the Genesis 5k class I did so that was way cool. I have to admit I’m both excited and nervous at the same time about this journey I’m about to take. I haven’t decided if I’m going to blog this one like I did the 5k or not. It would be nice to have a record of it just for my own personal keepsake. I was cleaning my spare room this weekend I found a journal from 2003 and it’s amazing how much I’v grown over these last years, thank goodness, for insight, personal responsibility, and growth! So keeping a blog of this may be a good thing 🙂

Tonight was a lot of lecture  and we also did some fundamentals of running. We were taped running normally, running swinging our arms wide, running with our arms behind our backs, and then barefoot. All of this was to address our form; it was interesting to see how just changing our arms changed how we ran. We all did much much better when we were barefoot! We had short quick strides, and our arms were right were they needed to be– amazing. It was suggested we practice a little barefoot to help our form. I couldn’t believe how different I looked. There was so much covered tonight I won’t be able to cover it all here but it was great information.

The one thing I have been frustrated with lately is my distance, as I mentioned in another post I was told to focus on time and not distance. Tonight we learned to increase endurance our practice runs need to be easy runs. To do that we learned the difference between Aerobic and Anaerobic exercise. I found out I have been doing more anaerobic workouts because I have been running way above my heart rate. We were told if we want to run aerobically (and burn fat) we need to stay within our heart rate zone. I haven’t been doing that; I’ve been way above it. So to increase endurance and distance I need to slow down…can you believe that! My MIND WAS BLOWN! But he said this is how you train. This means even if we have to walk to get our HR down–stay within your HR. It was probably the biggest lesson of the evening for me.

This week we continue what we have been doing and start the training plans when we start on September 6th.The training is 9 weeks…. Easy Start…Strong Finish…

wp-1472431925400.jpg

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “First Day of Training 🏃🏾”

  1. I defiantly will embrace the slowness. It will make runs much easier and more fun! The things you learn huh? 🙂 And the blog was very helpful when I was training for the 5k and I’m sure it will be equally helpful for this as well..Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

