New PR and Pulled Hamstring…

Today was the Charleston Distance 5k and 15 Mile Run. Let me just start you could not have asked for a better day for a race. We have had some pretty oppressive days of heat and humidity but this morning was perfect. A cool 58/60 degree morning with a cool breeze. This was my first time doing this race; it’s a popular one here in Charleston and it is known to be the only 15 miler in America. Go Charleston! Needless to say I didn’t do the 15 mile run I did the 5k. Many of my Genesis peeps were there including my girl Barbara. Also Renee who I also met through Genesis and became reacquainted with through Kanawha Running Club this week was there and my friend Tami who I’ve known for years came to this race too. It was like a homecoming of people…it was great!

Everyone started at the same time we were on the Kanawha Blvd in front of the Capitol the 15 milers next to river the 5k’ers next to the Capitol (sorry I forgot to get a picture). The race was started with a cannon no count down BOOM! And we were off. My friend Tami and I kept a pretty good pace (Easy Start) and we did pretty well. Around mile two or so my left leg started to hurt just a little, it’s been bothering me for a few weeks now. That’s why I went to a yoga class a few weeks ago. So I had to stop for a bit and walk, my heart rate was good, it was my leg. I didn’t walk long maybe a minute or so, then I started again. We got to the point were I could see the entrance to the football stadium and my leg started to bother me and I had to stop again; which ticked me off because I knew I was close to the end. This break wasn’t as long. We got to the stadium and we had to go around the track to the finish line. I wasn’t sure about my time (I don’t look as I’m running) but when I got into view of the clock I saw 38 minutes I was totally stocked! I was determined not to let it turn into 39. So I dug deep for whatever I had left and crossed at 38:35:8! My new official PR! It’s just about a full minute off my last race. I will admit I was disappointed at my last race I was hoping to do better but this time I was excited and happy!

wp-1472934164107.jpg

My friend Tami finished one second behind me. It was a good day and a great race.

wp-1472934183823.jpg
My friend Tami and me just after the race.

After the race Tami and I decided to get massages they had available to the runners; which I thought was a good idea since my leg was hurting. Well as soon as the guy touch my leg I almost came off the table it hurt so bad. He told me I had a pulled hamstring and I would have to take it easy for a while and to switch between and ice and heat. I’m not sure when this happened but I probably aggravated during the race. As I recently posted I just started training for a half-marathon in November so I’m not sure how this will impact that training. But I PR’d with a pulled hamstring how cool is that! Dig deep baby if you want go after it!

wp-1472947424393.jpg

Have a good holiday weekend!

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “New PR and Pulled Hamstring…”

  1. Yay for the PR, Boo for the hamstring. I doubt you “pulled” it though as the pain would have been too much too bear. Most people would have had to drop to the ground. It sounds like you’ve aggravated it, but if you were actually able to walk and you had no cramping, I’m pretty sure it is not pulled. The massage therapist is right about alternating heat and ice, but you should also invest in a foam roller if you have not already. There are plenty of videos online to show you how to use it properly. I hope you heal quickly and again, congratulations on the PR!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

