Training and injury update

I’ve got a foam roller now and I’ve been doing the stretches the physical therapist recommended. My leg is still a little sore but not as bad as it was last week. So Saturday instead of running I went for a 4 mile walk and by the end of it my leg was hurting a little; so I came home and used the foam roller and did the stretches.

Today I decided to go for an actually run..well a run/walk. I went 25 minutes out; I ran more than I walked and I may have over did it a little. One the way back I had to walk when I tried to run I could feel a dull to slightly sharp pain in my hip and down my leg. So I walked back I may have over exerted and I probably should have run/walked more evenly and more slowly on the way out. It has been a tough two weeks my job has been frustrating and going through changes and this thing with my leg just as I’m supposed to be starting to train for the half-marathon. As I was  walking back I started to have those doubts about whether or not I will be able to run the race in November, 13.1 miles seems so long. The issues at work with starting and having to build a practice and all the scary things that go with it. I tried to shake those thoughts off but they were strong today; I was by myself so no one to distract me.

I guess I’m in a state of change and transition it just seems like it has been going on for a long time and these last two weeks have been overwhelming. I’m trying to figure out what I’m supposed to learn through all this. I am going to the training tomorrow I will do what I can and hopefully keep the doubting thoughts at bay…

wp-1473729207266.png

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Training and injury update”

  1. Glad to hear you got that foam roller I told you about. If I may be so bold, you are being taught patience. Injuries are a pain in the ass…sometimes literally. You are doing everything right, though. Just a thought…..what kind of shoes are you running in..the make and model and how many miles are on them? As well, are you a pronator?

    Like

      1. Did you have someone look at your gait? I purchase my shoes at The Running Room and the salespeople there will analyze your gait to determine what kind of shoes you actually should have. (Pronator, supinator, flat footed, etc.) If you are in the wrong pair of shoes (like I was five years ago) you can get serious injuries. I had used the Asics Kayano series for ages because they had asymmetrical laces. Because I am a slight pronator it was essential for me to use a shoe like this. Well, they changed the style but I still bought them. Big mistake. I had a calf injury in one run. (They had also changed the heel drop which can lead to serious injury in the hamstrings and hip flexors). I changed to the Saucony Hurricane series and I have not had a shoe related injury since. It might be something to consider because your injury happened so suddenly. The heel drop is a huge factor is a lot of injuries.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

