Tough night of training

Tonight was my first night with the Genesis Half-marathon training group since my issues with my leg. We were going to run an easy pace to a park, about a mile away, and then do intervals at our half-marathon pace, based on the HM Pacing Chart we had been given this week, then run back to the our starting point. Given my leg Jason didn’t want me to do the intervals he told me to do easy runs for now. Well, we started and I took it easy and I was able to run the full mile to the park and I felt pretty good no problems. We stopped and Jason told us where we were going to go for the intervals how many times around. We had to go up a flight of stairs to get to the start and once we got up there and I started to run my leg gave out; it just started to hurt and I couldn’t run. I tried twice I felt a sharp pain go down my leg. I stopped and I burst into tears. I felt defeated I had to walk the rest of the loop. The others started to lap me and I just cried.

I finally got around to where Jason was standing he was taking video and I wanted to hide. He told me it would be okay and it takes time I sat down on at a picnic table and was just quite. So I slowly and quietly walked back to the park where we started. I know things can’t be helped and a friend of my told me to “honor my body” but I felt defeated watching the others run back.

Jason told me not to run anymore this week and to try the elliptical for a minutes tomorrow. I know I’m having a moment okay a little feel sorry for myself moment and it will pass; as I was walking back I thought what do Serena Williams, Kara Goucher, and other athletes do when the find themselves injured, I doubt they cry (maybe they do) but they do what they need to do to get back in the game. And I guess that’s what I will have to do to.

wp-1473818583589.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

1 thought on “Tough night of training”

  1. Hi Tammi! I just had the time to read this. Yes, I am sure Serena Williams and other athletes cry when injury affects their performance, and just like any other type A personality, we cry when things don’t go our way. I believe you absolutely did the right thing by stopping your exercise. When I have been injured, I feel the same frustration. I get mad and push through, only to make the injury worse. Had I stopped, it might have healed quicker. Rest, ice, anti-inflammatories work for me, and then mild exercise when it stops hurting.

    I am praying for your recovery and patience while it heals. And please remember that if the injury hinders this half marathon, there are always others.

    Catherine

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

