Honor Your Body…

They say in yoga to honor your body and yesterday I didn’t do that and I was upset my body couldn’t (or wouldn’t) do what I wanted it to do. I wasn’t listening to my body it was trying to tell me it was in pain and it forced me to stop. I could have caused further damage to my leg which may cause me longer to heal. I have a goal to run and finish a half-marathon on November 6th. I have not set a goal that I’ve not met, the curse of being a type-A over achiever. What’s the worse that can happen I don’t get to run that particular race? Sure I would be disappointed but there will be another race.

I had a serious moment yesterday, I feel much better today. I went to the gym and only did 10 minutes on the elliptical, came home used the foam roller, did some stretches and now I’m icing it like a good patient. 🙂

Happy Running  😀

honoryourbody

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

