Got my 10 miles done!

Yesterday I hit another milestone in my half-marathon training..I finished my ten mile run!! Whoo Hoo!! I started off a little off because I wanted to do my run in the morning but I was up until midnight one day this week working on a paper for school and slept in yesterday morning. I was late getting up and typically I take care things for my grandmother on Saturday’s and yesterday was laundry for her; I started with her first so I didn’t get out until about 6:30 last night. I also had to figure out my route as well, my usual route was blocked because of a car show that was going on downtown so it was going to be a challenge to get the full 10 completed.

I started at the Capitol where I normally start went as far as I could in the opposite direction this time and then back my normal route as far as I could before I got to the car show; which only ended up being about 3.50 miles! So I doubled back to the Capitol it started getting dark as I was headed back, nothing like darkness to kick up your pace. When I got to the Capitol which was well lit, I started doing laps around the Capitol which happened to be one mile. I honestly had doubts that I would be able to finish; I checked my watch and it was only 6 miles I literally yelled out “that’s all!” I thought my Garmin VivoSmart HR+  was broken for a moment; and thought I don’t know if I will be able to finish this tonight. But I kept on going even my music wasn’t as helpful as it normally is for me. Before I knew it I was up to mile 8 two more to go..there was no way I was going to stop now. I had to fight hard for those last two..but I did it and finished 10 fabulous miles!!

wp-1476017465456.png

When I looked at my 8 mile run (my watch had stopped during the 9 I think my battery was low I forgot to charge it so no data 😦 ) I realized I had actually improved YAY!

wp-1474747298173.png

I actually thought during this 10 mile run that I wasn’t doing well. I was exhausted when I finished but I had improved. It’s amazing the thoughts we can have to sabotage our progress. Two mile recovery walk today just taking it easy 🙂

Happy Training….Happy Running

Tammi

wp-1476031719428.jpg

 

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

6 thoughts on “Got my 10 miles done!”

  1. That is wonderful Tammi! 10 is a super milestone! You are checking off those training runs and will feel prepared at the start of the MU Half…..woohoo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

