Itty Bitty Kitty 2 Mile Race

Today was the second race in the St. Albans series The Itty Bitty Kitty 2 Miler. It came right in the middle of the HM training; today was supposed to be my long run..11 miles but since today was a two mile race we just switched it up. Tomorrow I will do the long. Anyway, it was a cool fall morning nice day for a run/race. Nice crowd, familiar faces, Barbara (coach-ha!), my friend Tami, I knew two Gayle’s; it’s great how you get to know the running community after awhile. This was a 9 am start a decent time a little later than most; I noticed though when I started my left leg, the one that was injured, was really stiff when I started. I probably should have done just a little light jogging prior to the start. It took awhile for my leg to loosenย up. It was a good flat course which made it easier for my leg. So I finished today 23:35:2 (official) my pace was 11:48! I have to tell ya I was pretty happy with it! My pace has improved and I timed myself earlier in the week I did 2 miles in 26 minutes; so I was freakin happy with this time!

wp-1476562546823.jpg
Me just after the race, then with my friend Tami, the medal the second in the series, which is the bottom part of the State of WV, we have one more and it will compete the entire State.

screenshot_20161015-161842.png

The last race in this series is Thanksgiving Day a few weeks after the Marshall University Half-Marathon, so I should be good to go ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy running and training!

~Tammi

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelorโ€™s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Masterโ€™s Degree. Iโ€™m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

8 thoughts on “Itty Bitty Kitty 2 Mile Race”

Leave a Reply

