Half-Marathon Training–11 mile Run

Yesterday I did a two mile race today I did my long run..11 miles. I had hoped to be out by 7 the same time the race starts in November but again that didn’t happen. So I was out there an hour later than I had planed at 8:30. Nice morning though sunny and cool but it did get warmer as the day went on. I started out pretty good, I was taking it easy steady pace and I felt pretty good. I picked it up a little as I continued; I thought I was doing okay until around about mile 9 and half or so (almost there dangit!) my piriformis started hurting, it felt like a bad cramp that wakes you up in the middle of night. I had to stop and hold on to a light post. There was a guy walking by with his dog, he asked if I was okay, he could see it in my face and he said “you’ll be okay, stretch it out and take it slow”; he smiled and kept on walking his dog. I thought I was going to burst into tears. But I did what he said I had to take it slow and I finished, I was never so glad to finish a run in my life..I had nothing left give 😓

wp-1476659101544.jpg

You can see from my splits it was about mile 9 where my pace slowed down again. So I have tennis balls and as I type I’m on the ice pack…again. I have a business trip coming up this week in Charleston, SC, so I have to find a place to run while I’m there. Now that I’ve gotten used to being out on the road I don’t really like the treadmill much any more. And I’m not sure how the impact of the treadmill will be on my left leg and muscle but if I have to the treadmill will have to work. I’m taking the tennis balls with me and I will use them on the plane and while I’m in meetings. Not sure if I will take an ice pack with me yet or not. CONFESSION: I have to be honest here…I know the race is not until November 6th but I have to admit I’m a little nervous now about it. When I get back from my trip we have a race preview, we will either run the full race or 11 miles we can choose. Maybe that will help I don’t know or maybe it will make me even more nervous. I don’t know…

Keep on running and training….

~~Tammi

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

12 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Training–11 mile Run”

  1. Congrats on 11 miles! You are a tough one – pushing to meet your goals. You met another one today. Sorry about the painful part of it..go easy..take the tennis ball and the ice pack with you. 🙂 I hope that you find some beautiful spots to run in Charleston. I think that it is fun and motivating to have some new scenery to explore. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your 11 miles. What an accomplishment!!! My daughter lives in Charleston, SC and we have run on a paved path made specifically for runners and I know its at least 5 miles, and I think longer. I’ll text her and ask her the name. Its in Summerville, right outside of Charleston. I am just like you; I want to be outdoors. I hate the treadmill. But it is a necessary evil sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re doing great! You will definitely be very well prepared. The furthest I have ever gone before a half was 11 miles and only twice in all the half-marathons I’ve done. You’re ready right now. The excitement of the race will carry you through to 13.1. Awesome work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dude, if you can push through those 11 miles, and while dealing with pain during the last few, you’ll totally crush 13.1 in November! 👍🏻😄 Lol I know how you feel though, I’m starting to get really nervous about my race in November as well. This week is my peak week and after that my milage goes down, which is absolutely terrifying…just gotta trust the training process, I suppose. 😬

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

