Race Day Preview & injury drama…AGAIN

Today was our day to preview the race course for the Marshall University Half-Marathon. We met at our training place at 6 am yep! 6 am! Who does that!? Runners are just different aren’t they? So we could start at the time the race starts on November 6th; 7 am. I had just got back into town yesterday, I had gotten up a 3 am yesterday for a 7 am flight and this morning I was up at 4:45 to be there at 6 needless to say my sleep pattern is just a little off. I was in Charleston, SC so I left 80 degree weather and came home to temps that not as warm. It was a cold windy morning as we waiting to start at Marshall University Stadium. I kept my jacket on until I warmed up knowing I could always tie it around my waist. I had on a short sleeve shirt and shorts. I learned last year when I did a December 5k how quickly the body warms up once I started running.

This was just a preview of the course so we could know the route; so it was to be an easy first 10 miles with the last three at race pace. So we started and before I knew it I was out of that jacket! But my hands were cold and would not warm up. I didn’t bring my “throw away” gloves because I was saving those for the race. I kept a steady pace, I have to keep in mind I’m not in competition with anyone but myself, but I have to be honest I wanted to be up with those who have faster paces, but in due time. The ladies I was with were a hoot! They were able to keep a conversation pace we had a few navigation issues with the map but we managed to do just fine. Great attitudes these ladies had and they made the run fun as well. However, my left knee started to give me some issues about mile 5 or so. A sharp pain causing me to stop and walk for a few minutes. The ladies asked if I was okay I told them I was I just need to walk for awhile. I was able to run for a good distance and then it would happen again, and I would have to stop, this went on for some time; until around mile 9 or to be exact mile 9.65. I had to stop completely I tried to walk and couldn’t, just a little under 4 miles to go I had to stop 😦 I could not put any weight on my knee at this point. I called Jason asked if he could come and pick me up one of the ladies came back to see if I was okay she offered to stay with me but I told her to go on finish her 13.1 miles I would be alright until Jason go there. Totally disappointed. 😞  No tears but complete disappointment.

Once Jason picked me up I left (thank goodness I don’t drive a stick shift) and went to have my knee x-rayed. The Dr. told me the x-rays looked fine but I may have torn a ligament he would not know without an MRI. I am not to run on it for 3 days, ice it, he gave me something for inflammation. He put my knee in a brace and gave me some crutches. It hurts like crazy to stand on.. 😮

wp-1477155480518.jpg
My left knee and my new mode of transportation 

I was disappointed I did not get to complete the full 13 miles. It was my chance to see if I could do it. My left leg and knee have been an issue this whole training program, it has been frustrating to say the least. I’ll see how it goes the next few days. In the meantime happy running and training… 🙂

~~Tammi

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

6 thoughts on “Race Day Preview & injury drama…AGAIN”

  1. NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!! I have been where you are too many times! I am so SORRY to hear about this. Yes, there will be other races and other days but it just makes you feel so rotten when something like this comes up. You do have a little time to recover and hopefully you’ll be ready. But it sucks nonetheless. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

