Still on the bench..HM-Training

Today I saw a physical therapist about my knee. First it is feeling much better than it was on Saturday I can now put weight on it. I ditched the crutches on Sunday they were a bigger pain than my knee! Anyway, the guy I saw today was real nice totally cool. He told me my IT Band was really tight and showed me several stretches do for that and the good ole piriformis muscle. He also did some movement with me knee; it is still a little tender in some places. Because of this he was just a little concerned and told me if this continued again a MRI was recommended. He didn’t think the ACL was torn but there was a possibility something small could be going on.

So he said no running for the rest of the week and he even said try to back off until the race on November 6th; since I wasn’t going for a specific time and my goal for the race was to just finish. Translation…TAKE IT SLOW..geeze…He said if I did run, no long runs, just a few short runs and that would sometime next week. I called Jason our coach to let him know what was said he was in agreement but wanted me to ask about using the elliptical or exercise bike to keep up my fitness in the interim. So I will check about that tomorrow.

This has been an interesting journey this training session unlike the 5k. I’m working on my doctorate, my grandmother has needed more assistance, my job has been stressful and not what I had hoped and the problems with my leg/knee have kept me from really enjoying this like I did the 5k prep. I know life is full of challenges and somewhere in all of this there is a lesson to be learned. Until then I will press on…Now I have to finish a paper for class πŸ™‚

wp-1477522389620.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

9 thoughts on “Still on the bench..HM-Training”

  1. I’ve been following along with your injury updates. I was holding my breath hoping it was not going to be serious. Your PT gave you good advice, based on what your problem likely is. Just take it as easy as you can!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gail. I glad it was not serious. It just going take some time and I’m probably going to be much slower during the race and finish at a longer time than I hoped or expected. But as long as I finish…

      Like

  2. Glad to hear that your knee is feeling better! At least you’ve got that going for you, right? πŸ˜„ Sending positive vibes your way! Hopefully you’ll be pain free and ready to go by race day, if not, well there are always other races!πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

