One week to race day…

One week from today is the Marshall University Half-Marathon; I can’t say I know what to expect, what will happen, or what my physical condition will be; it feels like both my mind and body are fighting against me, at least the left side of my body. I did my stretches this morning and I’m on an ice pack right now. As I said in the last post it was recommended I do not run this past week, so I didn’t; I have to be honest now I’m almost afraid to run because I don’t know if I can get back to where I was prior to this hiccup and I still hurt in my lower back some down to me knee. It totally sucks! I also know part of this is in my head as well. I just read another runner’s blog who wrote about writing about the difficulties of running not just those celebratory moments that make running so sound effortless as if a lot work, bad runs, and frustrating moments don’t happen before the finish line. She was right! I’m there now, it was nice to read.

I think my goal with this race as was with my first 5k was to finish the race; but if I’m honest with myself I did want to finish under three hours. Now I don’t know if that is possible with what is going on with my leg, hip and knee. I will see what happens this week if I can run a few short runs (without crying ha!) and go from there..

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “One week to race day…”

  1. Haha I was totally like “I just wrote about that too!” And then I realized you were talking about me. 😁 Anyway, sounds like a tough spot to be in. Having to throw out race goals is always tough, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. No matter what you decide to do we’re all here rooting for you! Wishing you the best!! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

