Back on the pavement…

Today I attempted my first short run since my injury November 22nd. I was only going to do about 2 miles to see how if felt; a short, easy, slow run. I did stretches this morning before I left for work. I walked about 5 minutes before I started and then I was off, at an easy pace, the weather was nice cool, low 60’s. Initially, I thought things were going ok but after a few minutes my left knee started to hurt a little but I kept going the further I went I could tell my knee would not support me for a long distance. I stopped a few minutes then started running again; I was going slow my pace was 14:08 but I had to keep starting and stopping to give my knee a rest. At the end of one mile I stopped and just stood where I was looked around, massaging my knee, thinking about what to do, feeling some frustration so I started running again but even slower this time. Again stopping when my knee began to hurt eventually having to stop all together. I didn’t want to risk causing any serious damage to my knee so I just stopped and walked the rest of the way back to my car. I had a slight limp as I walked and I will admit I cried a little as I walked backed. The race is in six days and my knee in the moment just wont last a long distance. So I went to Robert’s Running our local running shop to see if they had anything that I could use for my knee. Taylor, whom I’ve gotten to know over the last year, was very helpful. She suggested I get Patellar Tendon Strap. She showed me how to use it and told me how it helped her at one time as well.

wp-1477955000894.jpg

I called coach Jay left him a message about what happened and talked with my uncle who told me I was on the “injured reserved list” like Dez Bryant (Go Cowboys!!) who recently had a knee injury. So I’m icing my knee now, going to rest it tomorrow and see how the Tendon Strap works. Keep you posted… 🏃🏾

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Back on the pavement…”

  1. 😦 I’ve had a rough week too. I went out Sunday – ready to enjoy a nice run on a beautiful day. I couldn’t run for 1 minute without stopping due to the pain in my hip. Yucky bursitis. So I am treating the bursitis, stretching and hoping for the best this weekend. I’m wishing the best for you too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

