HM–Packet Pick-UP

Today was the first day of packet pick-up for the Marshall University Half-Marathon on Sunday. I went to Huntington with another Genesis alum Renee who has run (or is it ran) this race a couple of times before but is just as excited as if it were her first!  That was cool. She talked about how much fun this race is, the football you’re given as you enter the football field, the hamburger at the end, and the general excitement of the day. When we got there the line had already formed, Robert’s Running was there selling shoes, I have to say it was well organized.

wp-1478308598404.jpg

Even while standing in line I was nervous ha! But as we waited we started to see some our fellow Genesis peeps; some from my current training group, some from the past all were excited. Everyone asked how my leg/knee was and if I was running, the running community is a very supportive one. 👍  We got our packets the shirts are nice and we were also given a very cool duffle bag as well! I had also ordered a jacket I picked that up as too. But I won’t put it on or even unzip until after the race…gotta earn it!

wp-1478306233859.jpg

So tomorrow I have to take care of some things for my grandmother early, then I’m going to just chill the rest of the day, work on some homework, and get to bed early, don’t forget to set you clocks back 🕑  See ya on race day!

~~Tammi

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “HM–Packet Pick-UP”

  1. I’m so excited to see you cross the finish line of your first half marathon!! Promise a big smile as you carry that football down the field. 🙂 Best of luck. Relax and have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

