13.1 Miles Done! Marshall University Half-Marathon..

It is done. The Marshall University Half-Marathon is in the books and I finished it! YAY!! I was up at 4 am this morning to meet Renee at 4:45 so we could be there early. We were so glad we did too. We got a great parking spot, used the bathroom twice, and it wasn’t a huge back up because we were at the football stadium, so there were porta potties and the bathrooms at the stadium as well. Who cares only one was officially open and we peed in the dark in the other one, it’s all good! Admittedly I was crazy nervous! My stomach was a mess! I was hoping to drink a little bit of a protein shake before we started but I knew that would be a bad idea. It was chilly out about 37-40 degrees at start time actually good weather for running. I had a jacket on, at the last minute I decided to take it off I knew I would heat up quickly. I had gloves on and kept those on most of the race my hands just stay cold. There were almost 1000 people there with the full marathoners and the half-marathoners. Those running the 5k started at 7:15. I had my patella band on and had already given in to the fact my goal was to finish and I had to take time off the table.

So I started out easy (remember easy start strong finish) and pretty kept an easy pace the entire race. I was please with myself. My knee did well and I gave it breaks throughout the race. The volunteers during the race were great, happy cheerful folks, the police who directed traffic were fabulous; runners thanked them all as the went passed them. There were people playing music, live and recorded, one guy playing his drums, a guy in a gorilla suit dancing with runners, fabulous and funny signs throughout the course, and encouraging shout outs the whole way. People went out of their way to be sure this was a fun run.

My knee held out most of the course I think me giving it breaks helped a lot and not trying to go too fast as well. However, the last two or three miles or so I could start to feel it a little. I was not going to stop at that point no way! When I passed the 12 mile marker I was like thank goodness! But that was the longest one mile I think I’ve ever ran in my life!! Finally, I got to the entrance of the football field and all was right with the world. They gave us a football to carry the rest of the way to finish line, that was cool. I picked up my pace a little as much as I could and I crossed that finished line tossed the football, saw Jay our coach and gave him a big ole hug!! I could not believe I had done it. My time was 3:11:58 it was actually better than I thought it was going to be. I was toast! I wanted to sit but Jay told me not to and walk around a little to recover, I knew that but my body was done. Barbara was there as well I gave her a big hug too. She has been a HUGE support throughout this process. Her grandson who I just met a few weeks ago is the coolest kid, he was making sure I was ok and offered to get something to eat. I can’t explain how I how feel about this accomplishment, a year ago I never would have thought I would have ever attempted such a feat but here I am and it’s done 13.1 miles baby! I think it just hit me what I did, as I write this last sentence I started to cry ๐Ÿ˜‚ ย tears of joy of course.

wp-1478456344554.jpg

wp-1478456397965.jpg
Barbara surprised me with this for my car.ย 

Happy Running~~~

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelorโ€™s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Masterโ€™s Degree. Iโ€™m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

7 thoughts on “13.1 Miles Done! Marshall University Half-Marathon..”

  1. Woohoo! Fantastic accomplishment. You looked so happy! You had a fast finish and set a PR. Congratulations and enjoy this wonderful day. I’m proud of your hard work and dedication to meet your goal.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

