It’s been a slow few weeks

Well it’s been a slow few weeks since I ran the half-marathon earlier this month. In part because I’ve been giving my leg and knee a much deserved rest. So I haven’t done any running since the race 😦 I have still been using ice and doing some stretches which have been helpful; but every once in awhile my knee will still “have a moment” when I walk, not sure what that’s about. As is traditional on Thanksgiving there are many 5k’s going on and I have signed up for one. Actually, it’s the same one I did last year Hot Diggity Dog Thanksgiving 5k only this time it’s the last one in the series I started in September. I have no idea how I will do in this one since I haven’t been running for a few and it looks like it may be raining that morning. YIKES!

Have I mentioned in this blog I also signed up for the Winter Series that starts in January..what was I thinking??? Anyone who has read this knows I don’t like winter, cold, snow or anything related to it. Good grief!! My plan was to challenge myself to do something I haven’t done (like the half-marathon) and also to keep myself going so I wouldn’t get lazy during the winter. We’ve had our first few moments of cold weather and I was like what in the world was going through my head when I did that? I do like a challenge.

Other than that there hasn’t been much to report my doctorate program is keeping me busy, my grandmother was a little ill but doing better now so I’ve been a little more busy with taking care of things for her, and of course there is work…that’s a whole story in and of itself. Overall, things are good, I do my best to stay positive, (so no news, thank goodness I got rid of FB years ago), stay grateful, mindful and prayerful. When I’m not I’ve my back up team for support 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving~~~Good luck with your races

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

