Thanksgiving Day Race Recap

Happy day after Thanksgiving! I’m not a Black Friday shopper I’d rather keep my sanity and stay in a good mood so I stay home. And besides I can always shop online! As most of you know and probably participated in there were a whole of races yesterday all over the country. We had a lot here too. As I stated in my last post I have not done any running since the half-marathon; this Thanksgiving 5k would be the first time out since that time. I was awaken at 6 am by a Happy Thanksgiving text..Really? I don’t normally get up on work day until 6:20! Anyway, the race didn’t start until 9 I really didn’t have to be there until at least 8:30 so I tried to go back to sleep but just tossed and turned.

I finally got up and dressed; I did some stretches since it was my first time out. My left leg is still not at it’s best and my knee is not 100%. It felt good I’ve been stretching since the last race and I’m sure it’s helping with the healing I don’t feel nearly as tight as I once did. I knew I may not beat or maybe come close to my 5k time so the goal was to do my best and finish.

It was a raining yesterday not like last year when it was a warm and sunny day. Actually, it was cloudy and drizzle but nonetheless it was different than last year. Temps were in the upper 40’s. I had a jacket with me because I was a cold and I had a short sleeved shirt because I knew I would warm up and then there was the rain factor. I also had gloves. Many of my friends were there of course Barbara, she had on a hat this morning due to the rain so I didn’t recognize her until she said “it’s me”! There were others from the Genesis group and the Kanawha Running Club too; you’re never alone at race  🙂

This race was the last in this series the first was August 6th a 5k, the second was October 15th a 2 miler, and the third was yesterday a 5k. Each medal given would be a part of the shape of the State of WV; you had to complete each race to each piece. Cool idea and also a great way to get you to run each race. Gotta complete the puzzle!  I’ll be honest that’s a big part of why I was out there yesterday I had to finish the series and get the last piece  🙂

The race started and I took my time. I was little stiff after awhile the stiffness worked out as I went on; but I kept it slow and steady. After mile one I gave myself a small walking break to rest my leg and knee I did have the patella band on. Once I got to mile two there was a hill a small one but a hill all the same so I walked up it I knew, it would be too much for my knee. Once at the top of the hill there was only one mile left I knew I was good to go. Of course I had long since taken my jacket off and tied it around my waist. My time actually wasn’t that bad. I finished at 40:03.8  I was 2 minutes off my best time. So given my injury and that dang hill I did pretty well. It stopped raining maybe a drop here or there nothing to be bothersome. It’s funny I was one of those people who swore I would not get out in rain or bad weather to run and here I am up at crazy hours and weather to get to the finish line…Never say never…

Hope you all had a fabulous Thanksgiving if you are out doing Black Friday shopping keep it fun and safe  🙂

wp-1480080140983.jpg
The medals from the series make shape of our great State of WV.

wp-1480080165264.jpg

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Day Race Recap”

Leave a Reply

