Jingle Bell 5k..My last race of the Year

Wow it’s been a minute or two since I’ve made a post here. I’ve been a little inactive since my last race on Thanksgiving. I still have been on the bench so to speak and school has taken a lot of my time. After the 5k on Thanksgiving I had to rest my knee and leg again. I’ve only been out for a couple of short runs since then. I still have to ice my knee and do stretches I’m not 100% yet.

Last Saturday the 17th was the Jingle Bell 5k; I registered about a week before the race because i wasn’t sure if I could or wanted to do this race.I also knew it would probably be the last one I would do for the year if I did it. The Genesis graduates were also doing a Christmas fun run a few days before (not a timed run) I also wanted to do that one as well but it was crazy cold out and I also wasn’t sure if my knee could handle both runs in the same week. So I opted not to do the fun run. Anyway, my buddy Barbara was also going to do the Jingle one of her friends daughter’s was the ambassador this year, so I registered.

It was usually warm this year (YAY) we had been in the middle of a cold snap; but the temperatures rose  during the night and it was about 50 degrees that morning at start time and maybe mid 60’s when we finished. It had been raining but the rain that morning had stopped. Nothing like last year boy was it cold.

We got started I had my knee band on and took it slow. I didn’t expect to come close to my best 5k time in fact I thought I would be way off. I did well the first mile and a half or so then I had to take a break to rest my knee. Then it became a walk/run thing for me the rest of the race. My time wasn’t as off as I thought it would be it was 42:24:2 my best time is 38:31. So I guess it wasn’t too bad given my knee injury. I’ve been on the ice pack since the race and a little ibuprofen. So it’s all good. Barbara and I are going to do a few runs this week; she’s doing the Runners World Thanksgiving to New Year’s Eve Challenge. I was doing the Map My Run You vs The Year 1000 km challenge but I’ve only gotten to 480 km due to my injury. But I never thought in my life I would have ever run 480 km in a year! So I’ll take it! 🙂

Merry Christmas Everyone! Happy Running~~

wp-1482191086044.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Jingle Bell 5k..My last race of the Year”

  1. VERY NICE! I’m still sitting on my rotund hiney. I ran a few miles on the treadmill but not much else. It is supposed to warm up here (just outside brutally cold Chicago) in a few days and if the snow on most of the sidewalks melts, I will get outside and pound some pavement. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! You guys have been hit pretty hard with the cold and snow I totally get not wanting to be out in all of that. My knee took a pounding I haven’t been able to get back out since 😞 I’m really not sure what’s going on with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

