2016 A Pretty Good Year of Running

I’ve read many end of the year running blogs/stories they have all been fun to read and the pictures have fabulous to look. Well here is mine I hope you find this one just as fun and fabulous. There has been so much out there lately about how bad 2016 was but when I was looking back over my 2016 it was not really that bad. Although Prince’s death was just a shock! (Yep I’m a fan he was an amazing artist and musician). There were ups and some twists and turns but overall it was not bad. But this is why I have stop watching the news they tend to focus only on what bad is going on as if there is nothing positive or there are not people doing good things out there. And  the reason I don’t have Facebook way too much negative venom going on there…but I digress.

I started out with a new job in January even though it didn’t work out (more on that later) I realized practicing gratitude and mindfulness can help make any situation better and so does running. In April I had the honor of having the textbook published  Tobacco Cessation and Substance Abuse Treatment in Women’s Health Care: A Clinical Guide that I was the co-author and editor, that was totally cool. I did the Genesis 5k Training again this year, my first 5k of the year was the  Memorial Day 5k. I was a late start waiting until spring I didn’t do any winter running over the last season. Some where along the way during the Genesis program I decided to take on the challenge of doing my first half-marathon. So I started the Genesis Half-Marathon training program; funny what a good dose of dopamine can do to you. As I started the training I came across the book Shut Up and Run: How to Get Up, Lace Up, and Sweat with Swagger. I thought this was a good book, the author talked about how running helped her to get over the trauma of being held hostage; amazing story.

So prior to officially starting the training for the half-marathon I completed the Charleston Distance Run 5k (my best 5k new PR) and this is where I realized I had an injury during this race. IT band and pirifomis muscle issues; I was unable to start the training for about two weeks. This problem actually kept coming up throughout the half-marathon training; two weeks prior to the race I was actually not able to walk. It was uncertain if I was going to be able to run the race. Long story short I did do it and it was probably the best thing to happen all year! I had completed a few other 5k’s prior to this race looking back I probably should have sat out of a couple of those and taken better care of my leg in preparation for half. Overall I’m still pleased with the year. I  was doing the Map My Run You Vs The Year Challenge with the hopes of running 1000 miles but with the injury that was not going to be possible but I ended up running 480 miles this year! I never would have ever thought that would happen and honestly I may have hit the 500 mark on a few occasions my watch died on me during the run so I didn’t get to count those miles, oh well. It stands at 480 and I’m cool with it.

The running year ended for me with the Jingle Bell run not my best 5k my leg issues flared up again. So now I’m officially on the bench no running for awhile which means I’m going to miss my first race of the year January 1st. I know I need to give my leg/knee sufficient time to heal. I have registered for my second half-marathon in May The Greenbrier Half-Marathon. Hopefully, I’ll be in good shape by then.

The year ended with a new job I started on December 19th. I will be taking my Doctoral Qualifying Exam in February. All said with the mini dramas of the year the good far out weighed the bad.

Happy New Year~~All the best for running in 2017~~

The Year in Pictures..

 

wp-1483061356493.jpgwp-1483061379376.jpgwp-1483061396090.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “2016 A Pretty Good Year of Running”

  1. Very fun, very fabulous! IT band issues aside, it sounds like you had a pretty go😊great year running wise! And having the book you co-authored is super awesome, congrats on that!! Wishing you many more injury free miles in 2017! 😄😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

